Yellowknife bashing or harmless fun

I know this is a bit out of my usual scope of posts, but here goes.

I am not sure what to think of this video. Obviously it is satire and to that end a lot of it might be considered fair comment based on a lot of common observations in the city, although exaggerated (which as we all know is a tool used by satirists.) I admit, I found some of what was in the video hilarious and in some parts even agreed with the observations.

It’s the intent I question. Was this done as a way to promote discussion? Was the goal to shed light on the problem Yellowknifers face when it comes to social issues, the service industry and cost of living – with a few harmless jabs at niche groups thrown in for fun?

Or was it more malicious?

As I watched it, I could not help but sense an underlying bitterness; it was as if whoever did this felt slighted by the city and the people who live here. In that vein, I question the author’s (or authors’) motives. Was it perhaps a final one-finger salute to the city?

Or, maybe, it means nothing at all and had no other goal than humour and there is no point of analyzing it further. I’d be interested to know what other people thought about it.

Ok so there is a new Yellowknife video. This one (which most have already seen) basically attacks the maker of the First video. If the creator of video number two was hoping to use this counter-video to show off what is great about Yellowknife, well, you failed. You just came across a bit whiny and defensive.

Sorry, tried to embed it, but for some reason it would not work.

This entry was posted in General, Media. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yellowknife bashing or harmless fun

  1. Mandy says:

    It’s nothing more than humour. The creator decided to make a wickedly bitter video about Yellowknife and nothing more. Have a laugh at our expense! There’s nothing wrong with that.

  2. Megan says:

    Yeah, I think it was supposed to be funny. We can criticise it for not being funny enough, maybe, but it’s clearly not intended as a one-finger salute. That distinguishes it from the response video, which attacks the creator of this video. If this bothers us, we need thicker skins.

  3. Nah, it doesn’t really bother me. I was just curious about what people thought the intent was.

    The response video on the other hand was annoying.

  4. Megan says:

    It’s the response to the original video that interests me the most. (Not the response video, which is a snoozefest, but the response around town.) I’ve been surprised at how angry people have been. I wouldn’t have thought people were so sensitive.

    • People are territorial, it’s in their nature. Don’t bash my city, my sports team, my place of business, etc. Maybe it’s just hard to admit what is wrong with a place, especially if you might have the power to make it better, might mean work.

Leave a Reply

