Flexing the creative muscle

My 3-Day novel is in the mail. It’s always exciting sending it off if not a bit nerve-wracking, and I am looking forward to the judges’ results. Unfortunately, if you’re not in the top 10 to 20 (I can’t remember the exact cut off range) you never know how you did, beyond the recognition of finishing. I am hopeful my work is worthy of that prestigious list, but I also know there were a lot of entries. This year, unlike previous years, I also have a better idea of the writers who were participating and have had the chance to peruse their blogs; there were a lot of very talented people in the competition.

There is a certain level of pride derived from being able to bang off 30,000 to 50,000 words in that time-frame and then have something with a beginning, middle and an end, but now I find myself wondering where I go from here.

I am considering participating in National Novel Writing Month and, oddly, this idea scares me way more than the three-day event. If you think about it, mathematically, writing 50, 000 words (or more) in 30 days is a cakewalk, especially if you can do near that in one-tenth of the time.

Psychologically, however, there are other factors. First, with ten times more time to write, you expect a product ten times better. Second, there are a massive number of hours available for procrastination in a month – and I a have a superhuman ability to procrastinate. Third, is actually a continuation of the first factor – the daunting fear of failing to meet the higher expectations.

Regardless if I decide to participate in National Novel Writing Month I will begin flexing the creative muscle – so-to-speak – again. I don’t write creatively as much as I used to and find myself itching to get back into it. To me, writing fiction is God-like creation. With every word, paragraph and chapter the greatest writers – past and present – don’t just provide us with entertainment, they give birth to entire worlds.

My dream is to forge a world. A place readers will want to visit again and again; where the people are not mere characters, but friends, enemies, even lovers.

It is my dream, however, that is also my greatest barrier. How can I hope to achieve such a lofty goal. Even more, where can I find the arrogant presumption to believe I can.

Perhaps my problem is thinking too far ahead. My plan is something simple, I will begin working out those creative muscles again and see where it goes.

I think once the 3-Day Novel judging is over I will post mine here (unless I win and then you will have to buy it.) I am considering posting it as is; it feels more genuine that way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

