Let the pain (err fun) begin.

T-minus 2.5 hours until the 3-Day Novel contest begins. I have just jotted down a few brief ideas and already the story is beginning to unfold in my mind.

As a surprise, even to me, the story will have an Arctic setting, some 65 years in the future. I am excited to see how the story unfolds. That is one of the reasons I do not do full plot outlines. I like to be surprised. I like to live the story as the characters do, not knowing exactly what the future holds. I am kind of like fate, there is an inescapable ending for the characters, but I have not preordained every step they will take to get there.

Anyway, wish me luck. I may give short updates as to my progress, I may not. At the least I might tweet the word count periodically. I am aiming for around 93,000 words. Both years previous I wrote more than 100,000 words.

Ok time to go drink two pots of coffee.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let the pain (err fun) begin.

  1. Natasha says:

    what a fun setting to work with, especially given how quickly the north is changing right now. good luck!

  2. I was on crack when I wrote this. I somehow combined word count and page count into a freakishly impossible number. I should have said I am aiming for 50,000 words. I wrote around 60,000 the first year and 53,000 the second.

  3. Sushi says:

    I found your site and you through #3dnc. Good to see I’m not the only insane one; I’m going for 50k, but I’m a first-timer to the three-day novel. Based on the hashtag, we’re on the high end. Go us?

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

