I’m quitting: again.

I am a smoker. I am not sure I have ever fully identified myself as a smoker. I started smoking fulltime when I was 25ish — almost a decade ago. Before that I was the weekend warrior-type smoker.

Nunavut kicked off the daily habit.  I moved up North just after my 25th birthday and spent six months living in our newest territory. Everyone in my office smoked and it was a bad excuse to take a break and be social. I sill didn’t consider myself a smoker, however. I did smoke every day, but at the most it was three. I also don’t smoke cigarettes; I smoke cigarellos (the difference exists only in the head of the rationalizing smoker).

Since then I have quit twice. Once for three years, except for the occasional weekend out-of-town. I would smoke then because I knew I wouldn’t get caught by my girlfriend at the time. Just recently, I quit for six months. My defeat was a wedding where I figured a celebratory cigar would do no harm. unfortunately, one turned into the whole pack and I started the daily habit again.

So, now I am going to quit again. Hopefully this time for good. In the grand scheme of smoking I am a lighter smoker. Eight a day (some times fewer) is a far cry from two to three packs people such as my father smoke each day.

I look forward to getting over the three-day hump. That is when I usually stop trying not to smoke and transition to simply not smoking. The trick is at the one-month stage when I will need to avoid the “one won’t hurt” trap.

My wife is supposedly quitting, too. I say supposedly because I know she had a half pack left last night. She doesn’t have work today and was asleep when I went to work so I cannot confirm whether she woke up and had one with her morning coffee.

Hopefully this time we both kick the habit. The obvious health benefits aside (I do feel a lot more energetic when I do not smoke), we will also save more than $600 a month between the two of us.

Anyway, wish me luck.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m quitting: again.

  1. Dave Morris says:

    Instead of going into it thinking, “This is a struggle; I must go toe-to-toe with my desire to smoke and conquer it,” I recommend saying to yourself, “From now on I am giving myself permission to stop feeling like I have to smoke.” It sounds like psychobabble, but if the Shadow can trick you into an inner war, that energy just goes to make it stronger. You can win by seeing that you don’t have to fight. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

